Sunday, July 26, 2015

Take it to the Beach with Colleen Coble’s ‘A Heart’s Promise’ and Tote Giveaway


A Heart’s Promise (Thomas Nelson, July 2015)
Emmie makes a promise to her friend that, if fulfilled, could mean the end to her dreams of a future with Isaac.
Emmie Croftner let Isaac Liddle go to avoid telling him about her past. But Isaac remains determined to win Emmie’s heart and hand. Though Emmie resolves to keep her heart in check, it hurts when she sees that another woman has set her bonnet for Isaac.
Then Emmie’s dear friend extracts a costly promise: if anything happens to her in childbirth, Emmie will marry her widower and raise the baby herself. And it seems Emmie may have to fulfill that promise. But can she live happily without Isaac?


USA Today bestselling author Colleen Coble has written several romantic suspense novels including “Tidewater Inn,” “Rosemary Cottage,” and the Mercy Falls, Lonestar, and Rock Harbor series.
Find out more about Colleen at

MY VIEW OF THIS BOOK:  This is the fifth installment in the Journey of the Heart series.   The story begins with Amelia Campbell, Sarah Campbell and Emmie all three friends expecting their first babies within a few weeks of one another.

Amelia has a foreboding feeling about her upcoming birth of her child and asks Emmie to make a promise.   Emmie half-heartedly makes the promise to Amelia never thinking that she would have to act on that promise.   When tragedy strikes everything comes to some tough decisions that need to be made.   Come join us on the journey of love, loss and happiness.

Will Emmie Croftner have to fulfill the promise she made to a friend?  Will someone else win Isaac's heart?  Will Emmie ever find love and happiness?  Come join Colleen Coble as she takes you on this journey.

Will the promise Emmie makes to her friend mean the end to her dreams of a future with Isaac? Find out in book five, A Heart's Promise, of Colleen Coble's A Journey of the Heart series. Emmie Croftner let Isaac Liddle go to avoid telling him about her past. But Isaac remains determined to win Emmie’s heart and hand. Can she live happily without Isaac?

Take a day off and head to the beach with a new giveaway from Colleen: five books (books one–five in Colleen's A Journey of the Heart series) and a beach bag to tote your new books in!

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A copy of A Heart's Promise
  • A Lands' End beach tote
  • A copy of A Heart's Betrayal
  • A copy of A Heart's Disguise
  • A copy of A Heart's Obsession
  • A copy of A Heart's Danger
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on July 31st. Winner will be announced August 3rd on Colleen's website.

Saturday, July 18, 2015

Karen Barnett’s ‘Beyond the Ashes’ 5-Book Giveaway

Beyond the Ashes (Abingdon Press, June 2015)
Where better to rebuild and face one’s fears than in 1906 San Francisco, a city rising from the ashes?
Ruby Marshall, a young widow, is certain she’ll discover new purpose assisting her brother Robert with his cancer research, but she doesn’t anticipate finding new love.
Dr. Gerald Larkspur dreams of filling his empty home with family, but he’d always hoped it would be a wife and children. In the aftermath of the great earthquake, the rooms are overflowing with extended family and friends left homeless by the disaster. When Robert’s widowed sister arrives, the close quarters seem close indeed.
Ruby and Gerald’s fledgling romance is put at risk when Gerald develops symptoms of the very disease they’re striving to cure. Together they must ask—is it worth a second chance at love when time might be short?

Karen Barnett is the author of "Beyond the Ashes," "Out of the Ruins," and "Mistaken." Named the 2013 Writer of Promise by Oregon Christian Writers, Karen lives in Albany, Oregon, with her husband and two kids. When she’s not writing novels, she loves speaking at women’s events, libraries, and book clubs.

MY VIEW:  I really enjoyed the debut novel from Karen Barnett.  So, when the sequel came out I knew that it was something that I had to read.

I love the research that has gone into this novel.   It is not another boy meets girl and fall in love novel, but it is a novel of rebuilding and starting over.  Ruby King Marshall comes to San Francisco to help with the relief work and to help her brother find a wife.   She is surprised at the destruction of San Francisco and the rebuilding that has already started.  There is another surprise that awaits her.

How do you start over after losing a loved one?   Can one find love again?   Time is short, but are you willing to risk all of that for love and happiness along the way.

Come follow the story of Ruby King Marshall and Dr. Gerald Larkspur as they find answers to those questions.   Step back in time after the great San Francisco Earthquake and medicine was in its early infancy especially the treatment of cancer.   It makes you realize how far medicine has come today.

Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Summer's List by Anita Higman

About the book: 
Summer's List (River North, June 2015)

A dying wish alters the course of a young woman's life.

Life hadn't been easy for Summer Snow. In acts of selflessness---caring for her ailing parents and running her grandmother's bookstore---she had forfeited her youth and dreams for the needs of others. And the only tries she had at love . . . didn't turn out. She had the bookstore, she had her beloved granny, but she was missing something---or someone.

Opportunity strikes when Granny sends Summer on an unexpected adventure with one Martin Langtree, a kind but gangly young man from Summer's past. A childhood friendship is rekindled, a romance is sparked, and mysteries are solved in one magical Texas summer. Will Summer strike out on love again, or will things finally go her way?

Purchase a copy:

About the author: 

Best-selling and award-winning author, Anita Higman, has over thirty books published (several coauthored) for adults and children. She's been a Barnes & Noble "Author of the Month" for Houston and has a BA degree, combining speech communication, psychology, and art. Anita loves good movies, exotic teas, and brunch with her friends.

Find Anita online: websiteTwitterFacebook

MY REVIEW OF THIS READ:  Okay here is another "new to me" author and another great read!   It is like taking all your favorite parts of a book and combining them into one wonderful read.   It takes you on a journey of Summer Snow of broken engagements, finding and reconnecting with a childhood friend, facing the possibility of losing someone dear, and solving a mystery.

Summer Snow's has it all or so it seems in her life.  She just broke off an engagement with her fiance'.   She receives devastating news regarding a loved one and then she is set on journey to find what she really wants in life instead of pleasing everyone else.

Will Summer be able to complete the list that her granny gives her?   Will she find love and happiness?  Will she be able to connect with her childhood friend that she always had feelings?
Come join Anita as she takes you on this incredible journey of love, loss and reconciliation